Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Arduino Mega based DIY Remote (XBee)

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 8 of 11 [ 160 posts ]

1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1130
Posted: 2011-09-27 08:58 
Xan wrote:
...prices on there website. I think they...
LOL

Edit
I think Kurt has these
But maybe they have something with beter quality (read better return to the centre) which isn't to expensive.
Maybe this or this is an option?

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-09-27 09:55 
Ooops! I didn't notice the link. :P

I'm on it. I will see what I can do to get them. I'm also lining up the rest of the stuff to make the enclosures, some options. Thanks!

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-09-27 10:05 
In my defense I was only awake for 10 minutes. ;)

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-09-27 10:13 
Robot Dude wrote:
In my defense I was only awake for 10 minutes. ;)

Must be nice to sleep in :lol: :P

It is not even 7:00am here yet...

Kurt

P.S. - you probably already know it but the forum clock is maybe 20 minutes fast.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-09-28 20:40 
I have the Delta packet mode working (I think). I have tried to make it, such that, it will only send out the new packets if the client sends out a new request (different packet type number). The clients only send out the new request packets, if they receive a new message from the transmitter saying that they are a new transmitter... So hopefully we should be able to mix and match.

Note: the above does not work around the fact that many of my earlier clients were pretty stupid, in that if they receive a message with more data than they want to handle, the punt and don't process any of the data. So if you have a new remote that sends out additional information, like the Knobs, or third slider, or additional button data, they plain don't work.

I also uploaded a Version 2.1 beta Phoenix 2.1 code base that uses this for an Arc32 Phoenix. That is up on the thread: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7658

I also updated the BAP28 transmitter code as well and uploaded an updated version to the main DIY remote control for XBee thread.

Kurt


Attachment:
DIY_Remote-110922a.zip [26.38 KiB]
Downloaded 75 times
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-10-06 10:05 
The new OLED is finally arriving today. Only took 1.5-2 Weeks to make it here from Robotshop :( But maybe it was good that it took awhile, as late yesterday I got a reply from 4DSystems about the issue...
Quote:
Dear Kurt,

I'm thrilled to hear that you like your 4D product.
I also wish you all the best with your project. I would be very interested in hearing any updates on developments down the track.

In regards to the lines on the screen, this has come up on a few occasions. This is due to the flex being touched, bent or moved just as you say.
Unfortunately, once this happens, the problem cannot be rectified.

In regards to your housing design, you need to do it in a way that the flex is not touched or at least only resting against something.
If it gets bent, you will incur the same problem.
...




So if you look at the image (of the current one), where at the bottom you see the tan stuff, this can not be bent, which implies that the OLED probably needs to sit recessed slightly into the case to keep it from being destroyed (again). Probably need to make the hole a bit smaller... :(

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-10-06 12:35 
Gimme the actual size you want and I will cut it out for you. I will also set you up with a second DIY radio using the Hitec gimbals for your testing. Please tell me what other holes you want or don't want on the spare.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3298
Posted: 2011-10-06 12:41 
Robot Dude wrote:
I will also set you up with a second DIY radio using the Hitec gimbals for your testing. Please tell me what other holes you want or don't want on the spare.


DIY's For everyone!!!!!!!!! :D YAY.... :lol: Oh i read that wrong. :(
LOL.

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-10-06 13:08 
Robot Dude wrote:
Gimme the actual size you want and I will cut it out for you. I will also set you up with a second DIY radio using the Hitec gimbals for your testing. Please tell me what other holes you want or don't want on the spare.


Sounds great. The only new hole on the existing one that I added was for the reset button...

Now for the OLED: Using the Micrometer, I am thinking that we could decrease the hole size:
For horizontal, I am thinking move the Left and right in by .75mm each, I think that makes the hole 32.5mm
Vertical: Move top down .75 mm, the bottom should be about 31mm below the top...
Hope that makes sense.

The Hitec Gimbals sound like fun... I guess the question should be what display to use for it? What processor, sliders...

Thanks again,

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-10-06 16:33 
Here are the dims for the current version. From the picture it looks to me that the bottom of the square hole should go up? Can you refer to the drawing and list the changes. Sorry I didn't understand the changes.

Edit: removed inaccurate image.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-10-06 16:35 
innerbreed wrote:
DIY's For everyone!!!!!!!!! :D YAY.... :lol: Oh i read that wrong. :(
LOL.


Nice try Jonny... ;)

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-10-06 17:42 
Hi Jim, I am sort of confused my self.

In your drawing you show the horizontal hole as 25.50m? I think it is more like 34mm, by my digital caliper. I think this should go down to 32.5 with the same center.

On the Vertical side, I think I am measuring around 35mm, may have been slightly less (maybe 34.5?) than this when you shipped it as I think I tried to slightly enlarge it here... What I was trying to say is I think this hole should be about 31mm. Now assuming it was 34.5, which is making the hole smaller by 3.5mm, but instead of taking 1.75" from the top and bottom, I was think maybe lower the top by only .75mm and raise the bottom, by 2.75mm.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-10-07 23:18 
:oops: I'll look into it Monday. I may have grabbed the wrong file.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2011-10-11 11:35 
Ok it's Tuesday...

I found the problem. Here is the corrected image. Now what? :)

Attachment:
kurt_diyRC.gif
kurt_diyRC.gif [ 15.66 KiB | Viewed 810 times ]

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4869
Posted: 2011-10-11 11:42 
Looks good.


1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-07-24 11:24
Feedback Form
Feedback Form