Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

DIY Remote control Casing

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 6 of 14 [ 199 posts ]

1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3298
Posted: 2011-02-26 15:41 
a very good point. interesting.
i would personally say that its the hardware. i find that some of the time im having to adjust the Deadzone or tolerance of the stick values just to stop it from making my robots think the sticks are not at centre, making them move on there own because values are not at 0.

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4102
Posted: 2011-02-26 18:44 
Could be mechanical, inexpensive pots, temp change, limited A/D conversion resolution.

Remember the pulse width is encoded into an RF envelope (R/C xmitter), more analog parts. Similar for the PS2, but digital bytes encoded.

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-02-27 12:17 
I got some time today to try the Arduino board. And make my first "C" program... lol

I have made a little soft that take 14 digital input and 8 analog input.
The only thing it does is capture thoses inputs and transfert them in a string to the serial port.

I have to begin somewhere... lol

In the video you see 8 Zero and at a point some change to "1"... Thoses are logic input.
After i have 8 analog input separate by "-".




High Res:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5134/5482449250_3a75d4f225_b.jpg


High Res:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5258/5482449678_1d45a82436_b.jpg

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4102
Posted: 2011-02-27 15:01 
That's a different Arduino. I have been programming the UNO, and we've made a 'bot for our HBRC Robotics Class.



Shown with a prototype board, forward and floor-looking IR detectors.

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-02-27 22:43 
I think the two boards are mainly the same. Just more I/O and memory on the Mega. I would have take a UNO but i need more than 6 A/D.
I will post my code tomorrow. but nothing exceptionnal here.. lol

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4102
Posted: 2011-02-27 23:14 
Looks like your board is a little bigger. The UNO could use a few more I/O pins. But now I've got a project built around it, and a few more to come.

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4854
Posted: 2011-02-28 10:55 
The Mega versus the UNO.

Yep lots more IO's (digital 54 16) (Analog 16 6).

Lots more memory (new one 256k old one 128k) vs 32K

In some projects the thing that makes it nice: 4 USARTS vs 1. So on this project, you can have one USART on the USB, one on the XBEE and one on the LCD and never worry about the serial data being corrupted by anything...

Kurt

Forgot to mention: Size, yes the official Mega is bigger, but the Seeeduino version is the same size and has even more IOs...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-02-28 12:24 
My code..

if someone is interested to see. I have started to make test with the screen too.


Attachment:
Button_Test.zip [3.21 KiB]
Downloaded 48 times

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-02-28 22:53 
Here is a little video.

It's take by my iPod touch.. so the quality is realy poor.


What you see, or not see.. lol
When pressing a button it go from Menu Page 1 to Menu Page 2... etc

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-03-01 14:55 
Ok Menu Test...!



==== EDIT ====
Scrolling menu... in progress


Why not another...

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-03-03 07:42 
Here is a picture of the cut parts.

The place where i have made them cut took it.


High Res:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5135/5494245614_cfebdf0e0e_b.jpg

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4854
Posted: 2011-03-03 10:49 
Looks Good.

You probably can not wait to get it and try assembling the whole thing!

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-03-03 11:01 
kurte wrote:
Looks Good.

You probably can not wait to get it and try assembling the whole thing!

Kurt


Right... !

Damn the post is not fast.. lol
Was shipped last 25.

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1837
Posted: 2011-03-05 15:22 
More menu work.


Watch in HD ...

I want to know what do you include in your transmitter software normaly. Realy apreciated to know.
Tanks again everyone...!

btw: Casing is at custom...!

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4854
Posted: 2011-03-05 18:49 
Looking like you are making some great progress! Do you have construction going on in the background?

For the DIY transmitter code - I have tried to keep the code non robot specific. That it is simply has the code to the currently selected robot (XBEE DL) and it simply outputs some standardized formats of data, with some handshaking. It also has a couple of configuration pages. 1 is to allow you to use the keypad to enter the DL (old method) and a second that does a Node Discovery, which returns back ID, plus text... I cache away this data in the EEPROM of the Atom Pro, so then I have simple code that allows me to scroll through the list and choose one, or to try issuing the ND command again to see if any new robots out there...

I also have a Joystick configuration page that has you move all of the joystick and sliders their full extent then gets the current center location and uses this to do mappings from 0-255 with 128 (or was 127) at the center spot...

That is about it.
Kurt


1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-07-09 19:31
Feedback Form
Feedback Form