Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Dual Lynx Arm Configuator & Controler = excellent

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ]

New ( offline )
Posts: 7
Posted: 2011-09-26 21:25 
Thanks for this software! It's excellent! Keep up the great work!1

I just finished using the configuration & control programs to concept a project.

1. I need to include some timed delays before starting the move loop so I tried to save the file as .bas or .pde with no luck. The Win Explorer window opens with a suggested Basicprogram.bas or Arduinoprogram.pde file name and a type of ‘*.*' but when I edit the file name & click save, it doesn't seem to save it to the destination folder. What's up?

2. The 'Play Loop' switch does not work for me. I load a .txt file of commands; slide play loop to on; click on 'play' triangle and the programmed commands will play from top to bottom and stop at the last command.

3. I think I discovered a bug while using Dual Lynx Arm Controller. After saving 8+ ‘Saved Positions' I attempted to delete the last Saved Position. I selected the last Saved Position and clicked on remove & confirm, however, the Saved Position above the last one was deleted. Using version 1_4_0.

4. While using the configuration program v3_0_9, I lost the sliders in Step 4 ‘Set home'. The slider ONLY appears while the mouse button is pressed. The numbers are in red. Once I'm done clicking the mouse, the on-screen slider button disappears.

5. Where are the configuration values saved? Is it to a separate file or?

6. I downloaded these versions from the LynxMotion web site. The versions in the forum link appear to be different. Which are the most current versions?

I'm running: Win 7 x64, Keyspan USB to serial p/n USA-19HS driver3.7.0.5 13-May2010, AL5D arm, SSC-32, Lynx Arm Config v3_0_9, Dual Lynx Arm Controller v1_4_0, Flowstone enterprise
Thanks
Steve


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 253
Posted: 2011-09-27 16:57 
1. This was a bug I've found and fixed.

2. This was a bug I've found and fixed.

3. You did indeed find a bug. Fixed.

4. Could you provide a screen cap of the program when this happens?

5. The configuration file is stored in the AppData folder and it is not recommended that you edit this file manually.

6. The most current release versions will be on the Lynxmotion.com software page.

Be sure to look for the new fixed version on the website in the next hour or so.

I really appreciate the feedback on my program! Thank you for pointing out these things that were broken so that I could quickly fix it for everyone! Keep up the good work :D

_________________
Devon Simmons, Former Programmer for Lynxmotion.
I can try to help, but I can only offer you my best effort.


New ( offline )
Posts: 7
Posted: 2011-09-27 20:22 
1. Here's a screen pix of section 4 Home showing no adjustment slider & red values. The button/slider appears for a second and then disappears. When I click 'set' then next screen appears with a button/slider visible for a second.

2. Thanks for fixing the Loop & delete issues outlined in previous post. THEY WORK GREAT on the arm & SSC-32!!!

3. I was looking in the IK X Y Player REBUILD V1_4_0.fsm file. It took me some time to find the Loop switch in the Sequencer module. Is there any way to do a Find in flowstone?

4. I'd like to teach myself Flowstone. I'm trying to get the 'Lynxmotion SC-32 Test.fsm' I downloaded (via the 'Flowstone example thread & link' in this forum) to talk to the SSC-32 on my AL5D arm. http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/view ... f=11&t=268 I opened the .fsm in Flowstone, set the com port to the port connected (per Device Manager) to the SSC-32, set the servo number to the arm base servo (connected to P0). Nothing is happening. The green LED on the SSC-32 is still on. So that means Flowstone is not talking to the com port in my PC? Any ideas? I can get 'Lynxmotion Sc-32 test.fsm' (which I found somewhere) to talk to the SSC-32 & arm fine.

5. What is the approximate pause value for a 1 & 5 minute delays in the Dual Lynx Arm Controller? I can't seem to get larger values to delay properly.

6. Is it possible to display a time-remaining or something while waiting for a delay to count down? I'm trying to use this functionality to time the start of programmed command loop in the excellent Lynx Dual Arm control applicaton.

7. The Save as .bas &.pde is still not working correctly for me. I tried to save a 18 line sequence (half commands are pause's). After 10 minutes it's still showing 'Exporting please wait'. Win 7 Task Manger shows Dual Lynx Arm Controller with 0 CPU usage on an i7 cpu laptop.

Thanks for this! Keep up the great work!

Steve


Attachment:
File comment: Scn pix of Lynx Arm Config 4-Home
27-Sep-11 4-48-13 PM.png
27-Sep-11 4-48-13 PM.png [ 89.7 KiB | Viewed 2345 times ]
User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 253
Posted: 2011-09-28 16:57 
1. I can't guarantee a fix for this today but i'll try as i know what the problem is.

2. Thank you!

3. a great way to find a gui element in the fsm file is to double click on the element when the interface is unlocked. Does that make sense?

4. You say you can get it to connect but not send anything to the SSC-32? I don't think I understand what you're saying.

5. The delays are in miliseconds so 60000 would be one minute. However the green triggers used by the flowstone program are not very reliable for large delays. After about a minute the error begins to grow out of control.

6. This could be a possible feature but it would really be useful for large delays... But like i said these are inaccurate.

7. The export features only support move commands. I still need to put this into documentation. I would suggest using the export features as a base of a program that you add more to.

_________________
Devon Simmons, Former Programmer for Lynxmotion.
I can try to help, but I can only offer you my best effort.


New ( offline )
Posts: 7
Posted: 2011-09-28 17:48 
Hi,
1. Great, I'll be patient
2. You're welcome
3. Guess I don't understand. After reading your response I opened IK XY Player REBUILD V1_4_0_1.fsm > in the action panel of the top GUI, clicked the lock to unlock it > I then double clicked the ‘Play Loop On/Off' graphic = result the top level module opened…. I was not taken to the module with the Play Loop On/Off'. Please explain further.
4. I mistyped previous item, which was total confusing. Sorry. Here's try #2.

I can not get 'Lynxmotion SC-32 Test.fsm' to do anything. The SSC-32 green LED stays on. Never flickers. I open the .fsm > set com = 3 (as indicated in Device manager) > set servo to 0 (arm base) > move slider = SSC-32 LED still on = servo not actuated.

I can get a different schematic to work OK, ‘SSC-32 sequencer.fsm' does individually actuate each of the arm's servos via the SSc-32.

I'm assuming that the ‘Lynxmotion SC-32 Test.fsm' (which is linked via the Lynxmotion Flowstone Examples thread) works on everyone's stuff but mine. So I'd like to learn what I need to do to get it to work for me. Suggestions please.

5. Ok, will not work reliably above 60000 milliseconds/1 minute delays. I'll have to get that to work with a different method via BasicMicro Studio.
6. OK understand
7. Are you saying that to get the pde/bas export to work I need to delete the delay commands in the
Programmed Commands list?

Tks,
Steve


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 253
Posted: 2011-09-28 18:07 
3. Try double clicking on the switch instead of the label :wink:

4. The program has a bug in it. Change the input to the com port module from the selector from a trigger type to an integer type. I'll make sure dsp updates their file tomorrow.

5. Try using multiple small pauses. This may work for you.

7. The problem is these commands yes. I have not yet had time to implement a fix to keep the program from hanging on these non move commands.The quick thing to fix the porblem is to remove the non move commands. I'll be working on this tomorrow.

I love all this feedback! Thank you.

_________________
Devon Simmons, Former Programmer for Lynxmotion.
I can try to help, but I can only offer you my best effort.


New ( offline )
Posts: 7
Posted: 2011-09-28 18:20 
Great thanks!

1. Is there a way to have the Dual Lynx Arm Controller signal the SSC-32 to actuate a solenoid ring a Programmed Command sequence?

2. OK, I changed the input type to the com module. It's working ok.

Thanks,
Steve


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 253
Posted: 2011-09-29 09:21 
If the solenoid takes a servo pulse or digital input you and use the spare outputs to control it.

_________________
Devon Simmons, Former Programmer for Lynxmotion.
I can try to help, but I can only offer you my best effort.


New ( offline )
Posts: 1
Posted: 2012-01-09 13:53 
First and foremost let me say a big thank you for your work on this program. I am implementing several Lynxmotion robotic arms into my electronics course and I need all the help I can get.

I have figured out most of the functionality of the "dual arm" program but ran into a little snag when I attempted to use one of the spare outputs. I ordered an addtional base with each arm to act as a turntable. Although the servo responds normally when running in "lynxterm" it has very limited motion and slow response when controlled by the "Spare A" output of the "dual arm" program.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me and thanks again for all your hard work!


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 253
Posted: 2012-01-09 18:47 
The problem you're having is with the calibration values. Have you calibrated your spare channels for the min and max values of 500 and 2500? This would be done using the included calibration program.

_________________
Devon Simmons, Former Programmer for Lynxmotion.
I can try to help, but I can only offer you my best effort.


 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-12-22 20:50
Feedback Form
Feedback Form