Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Hexapod project for school

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]

1, 2, 3
Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 13
Posted: 2012-04-09 06:35 
Hello guys,

I'm kinda new to this hobby, but I'm very interested. I fell in love with the hexapods, watching Zenta's A-Pod walking around in 2009, Thanks for that, Zenta!
So, I wanted to build one for myself and the first thing was a CAD model by Google SketchUp.

In the course of time there were a lot of improvements, the first picture shows not the final design, but you can see i was inspired by Zenta's T-Hex :)

So this was nearly 2.5 years ago, but this year in my vocational school, i have the possibility to build it for the "Mechatroniker Exposition" (little thing, were the mechatronics of the school show their talent and ability)
Anyway, in my company we have a laser cutting machine and the body and the legs were cut out for me.

Also I knew, I use the ARC-32 Board, because this should be a kind of a low cost project.

The next step was to place all the servos and I used the MG995 -> come from china and just one fifth works well but hey, they are cheap :)

I just had to assemble the feet to the body, but custom made alu brackets are too weak, so i decided to make them out of V2A with just 1.5 mm thickness.
After bending and welding them together I could assemble the whole kit.

I would very appreciate if I may name him T-Phoenix because of the design of Zenta's T-Hex and the Phoenix legs.

Servos are assembled after the Phoenix Assembly Guide.
But now I would have a few questions :)

1. I want to remote control it, I know there's a PS2 Controller, but is the receiver included and how do I connect it to the ARC 32?
2. Of course I want it to walk, is there already a code written for the ARC-32?

Thanks a lot for reading my story :)

Raphael Dietz


Attachment:
File comment: The very first impressions
Hexapod1.jpg
Hexapod1.jpg [ 218.23 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: After a lot of improvements (spending 30 to 40 hours :))
Hexapod.jpg
Hexapod.jpg [ 224.18 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: Of course :)
DSC00135.jpg
DSC00135.jpg [ 514.74 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: already with the ARC 32 Board
DSC00147.jpg
DSC00147.jpg [ 485.37 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: a foot with the MG995 servos
DSC00167.jpg
DSC00167.jpg [ 429.44 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: custom made alu brackets were not strong enough -> V2A
DSC00183.jpg
DSC00183.jpg [ 348.8 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: all assembled (27 March 2012)
DSC00200.jpg
DSC00200.jpg [ 406.67 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: The hexapod how it looks today
DSC00212.jpg
DSC00212.jpg [ 453.97 KiB | Viewed 992 times ]
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 149
Posted: 2012-04-10 12:35 
Impressive, i like the unique look :).

About your first question, I made an order about 3-4 months ago that included a controller, the controller came with its own receiver, i didn't need to buy one on its own. About connecting it to the ARC 32 .. im not sure how but i think you might be able to find a guide somewhere around the forums.

Good luck with your future plans .


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 13
Posted: 2012-04-10 13:25 
Thank you, you helped me a lot but there's one more question :)
Where can I find the code that "revives" my hexapod, because I don't know how to do this I'm sorry ;)


Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 149
Posted: 2012-04-10 13:29 
Im sorry i cant help you in that area, i've never used ARC 32 before, but i dont think its any different from atom pro in terms of programming


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4124
Posted: 2012-04-10 13:49 
Nice parts! Nice 'bot!

I think Kurt has code to run on the ARC-32.

It came with a receiver? What kind, what do you want to connect?

Alan KM6VV

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 149
Posted: 2012-04-10 13:54 
Not sure if the question is directed to me but yea, i order PS2 controller and it came with one receiver, i just checked my order from 3 months, i didnt order a receiver, only controller :)


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2012-04-10 14:37 
Yeah the PS2 controller comes with a receiver, but some of our customers asked for spares so they could control more than one robot.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 13
Posted: 2012-04-10 15:30 
Thanks guys :)
http://www.nodna.de/Roboter-Zubehoer/Co ... --696.html
-> it says "It includes a small receiver module (not pictured), that plugs into our PS2C-01 cable"
so at least I have to buy the adapter too, which costs only 7.47 €, no problem ;)

Now I think I have to talk to someone who knows how to connect the receiver with the ARC-32, and have a talk to kurte about the code :D

R_ALF


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4912
Posted: 2012-04-10 17:11 
You plug it in :D :lol:

I used the Aux2 header (you can see the pin numbers in the source file.), but I believe it is P40-43. Why these? Because they added pull up resistors (47K which are pretty weak), but it got it done for the DAT line, which was important. I then grabbed +5v and GND from some place on the board...

Note: This was with earlier version of Arc32. Not sure if anything changed in the newer versions. Don't have one so can not test. They maybe have updated the datasheet for it, not sure...

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4124
Posted: 2012-04-10 20:18 
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4912
Posted: 2012-04-11 00:31 
Yes, there are now up to I believe Rev C of the board. The newer boards have differences, like VS=VL type jumper likewise VS1=VS2. Plus they changed some of the layout, like Aux1/Aux2. I heard rumors that some of the pins on these may have changed... But up till this last week none of the documents were updated. Looking today it looks like maybe they have been updated.

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4124
Posted: 2012-04-11 01:02 
I'll have to check it out. I haven't looked for a while...

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


Novice ( offline )
Posts: 74
Posted: 2012-04-11 06:59 
Very cool man, well done.


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 13
Posted: 2012-04-11 12:54 
Thanks snarez! And to everyone's interest, I appreciate it!

Hey kurte, I know there's already written a code for the Basic Atom Pro/SSC-32. Does my ARC-32 understand the same language, or is it something with the "hservo" commands I read not to long ago in the forum.
Would be cool if i may use an already written code, I'm still learning ;)

R_ALF


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4912
Posted: 2012-04-11 13:08 
No the code is different and yes we do have Phoenix code for it.

If you look in the Beta 2.1 thread, you will see places where I am pretty sure I uploaded Arc32 phoenix zip files. It will be configured to my Robot, but...
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7658

More details about my conversion in the earlier thread: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6042

Kurt


1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-10-20 04:09
Feedback Form
Feedback Form