Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

HS485-HB tight fit in SES brackets...

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 3 [ 45 posts ]

1, 2, 3
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9256
Posted: 2009-10-27 11:11 
Hitec has changed the case design for the new HS485-HB servos. It is now the tallest servo they make in the standard size format. They are a very tight fit for the brackets now. You can assemble the servo into the ASB-04 or equivalent as normal, because the bracket has some give and take. Just tighten the 4 mounting screws to take up the slack. We are looking into a couple options that will make them fit better. I'm looking into a button head version of the 3x8mm screw, and also a half height nut. One of these should alleviate the problem. I will keep this post updated as we figure this out. Sigh... :cry:

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3578
Posted: 2009-10-27 11:35 
I find it hard to develop a mental picture of what you are saying. If at all possible, can you post a few pictures illustrating the problem as well as the possible solutions? I'm assuming there is a small gap between the bracket ears and the bottom of the servo flange that can be closed by tightening the screws.

_________________
Mike

The robotics nut.


Last edited by SN96 on 2009-10-27 11:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 536
Posted: 2009-10-27 11:36 
SN96 wrote:
I find it hard to develop a mental picture of what you are saying. If at all possible, can you post a few pictures illustrating the problem as well as the possible solutions?

Just hold yer horses! Pics are coming. :P

_________________
Curiously enough, the only thing that went through the mind
of the bowl of petunias as it fell was "Oh no, not again."

James "Don't call me Jim" Frye
Lynxmotion, Inc
http://www.lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9256
Posted: 2009-10-27 11:55 
Here is the image...


Attachment:
DSC01449.JPG
DSC01449.JPG [ 16.55 KiB | Viewed 4128 times ]

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3578
Posted: 2009-10-27 12:35 
Something similar to this might work inserted from the inside out:


_________________
Mike

The robotics nut.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9256
Posted: 2009-10-27 12:41 
Yes, I have put in an order with my fastener supplier for something like that. Waiting for him to reply with what is available.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2158
Posted: 2009-10-27 14:31 
The button head screws will fit in the new brackets if assmbled with the head on the inside, but that almost forces you to use locking hardware on the outside because if the nut loosens up you have to disassemble the servo from the bracket to get onto the screw and re-tighten.
Another possibly viable option might be to press in a pair of PEM F-M3-1 flush inserts before the metal is bent.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3578
Posted: 2009-10-27 14:51 
EddieB wrote:
The button head screws will fit in the new brackets if assmbled with the head on the inside, but that almost forces you to use locking hardware on the outside because if the nut loosens up you have to disassemble the servo from the bracket to get onto the screw and re-tighten.
Another possibly viable option might be to press in a pair of PEM F-M3-1 flush inserts before the metal is bent.


That would be the best option; however, I'm not sure how this would impact cost wise. I hear you about the hardware becoming loose, but to me, aluminum is sort of "grippy" meaning that with a little pressure between the steel button face against the aluminum, it will grip and allow you to tighten the hardware without having to disassemble everything. I don't want to say with any sort of confidence this is the case, its something that would need to be looked into and experimented with.

_________________
Mike

The robotics nut.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9256
Posted: 2009-10-27 15:05 
Those nuts are cool, but not going to help much. I'm looking at about 6 thousand ASB-04's already on the shelf. We keep a huge inventory to keep this stuff in stock. Besides there is also all the other brackets that work the same way as the ASB-04. ASB-15, 17, and 24. So the answer is in the hardware, not in changing the brackets. I have had really good experience with button head screws. They really grab when tightened. I just don't have them in metric.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4127
Posted: 2009-10-27 15:18 
This is a rev of the servo? How much wider is the body?

If it's really close, I'm wondering if simply making up a sanding block (sandpaper wrapped around a block of wood) and taking down the case a little on each side would help. I'd be tempted to file the brackets as well (but then I'm familiar with metalworking). Possibly not something you want to propose as solutions.

Issue a warning for that particular servo?

Or, It looks like just a small space between the ears of the servo and the bracket. How about some small spacers?

Alan KM6VV

_________________
Visit:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SherlineCNC/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/HexapodRobotIK/


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2956
Posted: 2009-10-27 15:33 
Is Hitec planning to make this sort of change on all new servo models? How much of a change would be required to the ASB-04 and ASB-24 to accomodate this as well as older servos? This might be something to think about in the future.

Bad Hitec, making changes like this! :D

8-Dale

_________________
I can usually handle complexity. It's the [b][i]simple[/i][/b] things that always confound me..
Check out my [url=http://www.hybotics.me]blog[/url] now!
Open your mind, Read, Learn, Think, Apply..


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9256
Posted: 2009-10-27 15:55 
linuxguy wrote:
Is Hitec planning to make this sort of change on all new servo models?


I'm all over it. lol

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3578
Posted: 2009-10-27 16:54 
linuxguy wrote:
Bad Hitec, making changes like this! :D

8-Dale


Agree, it affects all designs that have dimensions using the other case design. I bet servo city is Angry.

_________________
Mike

The robotics nut.


Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2158
Posted: 2009-10-27 18:41 
KM6VV wrote:
This is a rev of the servo? How much wider is the body?
If it's really close, I'm wondering if simply making up a sanding block (sandpaper wrapped around a block of wood) and taking down the case a little on each side would help. I'd be tempted to file the brackets as well (but then I'm familiar with metalworking). Possibly not something you want to propose as solutions.
Issue a warning for that particular servo?
Or, It looks like just a small space between the ears of the servo and the bracket. How about some small spacers?

It is a different new model to replace the HS-475/HS-5475 servos.
While it is rated a few oz-in more than the HS-x475 servos it also appears they added some cost saving measures like no rubber boot where the wire leaves the body.
The significant dimention that changed is the depth below the mounting surface. It increased by 1.48mm.
You can't really sand 1.48mm off the bottom of the servo since that would put you through the plastic and probably start eating into PCB.
You can't add height to the mounting surface because you change the distance from the top of the servo horn to the bottom of the ASB-04 so your C-brackets and stuff would then be too narrow.


Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2158
Posted: 2009-10-27 18:46 
linuxguy wrote:
Bad Hitec, making changes like this! :D

to put this in perspective of volume, hobby robots are at best a niche in their sales and this is a low-end servo. The bigger r/c market will be pretty much immune to a change in this dimension. I can't think of any plane I've ever built where adding 1.5mm to the depth of a servo below the servo tray would have caused an interference, especially any planes from kits or ARFs where you need to do your own radio install since the manufacturers don't force any particular servo model or even brand on people.


1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-12-20 22:34
Feedback Form
Feedback Form