Motor Shield help

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]

New ( offline )
Posted: 2012-04-02 19:00 
 Post subject: Motor Shield help
Hello,

This is my first post but I'm a total noob when it comes to robots. I have a question about a Motor Shield. I am using http://www.robotshop.com/adafruit-motor-shield-kit-arduino.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=base&utm_campaign=jos
from Robotshop, along with this stepper motor from Pololu http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1208

My question is this what is the correct way to hook up the wires?

I have tried multiple combinations and the only reaction I get out of the motor is that it moves back and forth with no real movement. It just kinda shakes really fast. I am using this code

I am using the Arduino MEGA and a 7.2 volt Ni-MH battery

// Adafruit Motor shield library
// copyright Adafruit Industries LLC, 2009
// this code is public domain, enjoy!

#include

// Connect a stepper motor with 48 steps per revolution (7.5 degree)
// to motor port #2 (M3 and M4)
AF_Stepper motor(48, 2); < -- I have changed this from 48 to 200 and tried the other side of the motor shield by changing 2 to 1.
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
Serial.println("Stepper test!");

motor.setSpeed(10); // 10 rpm
}

void loop() {
Serial.println("Single coil steps");
motor.step(100, FORWARD, SINGLE);
motor.step(100, BACKWARD, SINGLE);

Serial.println("Double coil steps");
motor.step(100, FORWARD, DOUBLE);
motor.step(100, BACKWARD, DOUBLE);

Serial.println("Interleave coil steps");
motor.step(100, FORWARD, INTERLEAVE);
motor.step(100, BACKWARD, INTERLEAVE);

Serial.println("Micrsostep steps");
motor.step(100, FORWARD, MICROSTEP);
motor.step(100, BACKWARD, MICROSTEP);
}

I have changed multiple parameters in the code including changing the number of steps from 48 to 200 in the code.
The current wire combination I have is