Free shipping on orders over $200

New to Programming (VB Help PLease)

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]

1, 2
Rookie ( offline )
Posted: 2008-09-13 18:51 
Hey, well I am a Mechanical Engineering Student starting my sophmore year at Texas A&M University. I am familiar with robots but new to programming. I am currently trying to create a program in Visual Basic 2008 Express Edition that will control the servos on a SES Lynx Arm using the SSC-32 control board. I have been looking through forums and finding "Sample Codes" but do not understand how they communicate with the SSC. I know that the code is sending byte information to the board that tells the servos what to do but I do not understand the code nor how the SSC board reads it. If someone could just give me a code they are using and tell me what i does, I think I can break it down and figure it out. Just something to get me on my feet. If I sound ignorant, please forgive as I mentioned I am new to programming. Any help would be very appreciated.

Thanks,
Corey

Novice ( offline )
Posted: 2008-09-14 11:49 
Please read through this thread: http://www.lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?t=4017. It's a sticky so it will remain at the top. I did my best to outline a few different ways to get started. I haven't updated it in a while since I got the Sequencer program and am using that as it's not that much (only $40) and does everything I need. My goal is to get my Scout walking like it isn't totally drunk then export the CSV file of the sequence and code that into VB so I can customize a UI and hone my VB skills.

Short story, I will eventually work on the VB 2008 project again but need to do some basics to get my Scout walking better first. I encourage anyone out here to contribute to the sticky thread though if you have VB 2008 experience with the SSC-32. Good luck!

Rookie ( offline )
Posted: 2008-09-14 12:29 
RA, RK, RH, LA, LK, LH, speed Walk Forward - SEQ Servo Order