Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Problem establishing connection with wireless controller

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]

1, 2
Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-07 17:34 
Hello everyone,

I assembled for my first time a hexapod(Yaay me!). I wired everything and uploaded a program from the site.
But when I push any button nothing will happen...

So I followed this tutorial and used the programcode at the bottom:
http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build034.htm

Instead of having a terminal with:
79 255 255 128 128 128 128 000 000 etc...
I got a terminal with:
FF 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 etc...

I tested the wireless controller on my playstation 2 and everything was fine.
I use a BAP 28 on a BotBoard 2 with wireless controller.
The BasicMicroStudio is v2.0.0.11

So how does it come that I can't control my pod?

Thanks in advance


Last edited by Ilias+1 on 2011-05-09 15:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 536
Posted: 2011-05-09 10:35 
Have any pictures of your wiring?

_________________
Curiously enough, the only thing that went through the mind
of the bowl of petunias as it fell was "Oh no, not again."

James "Don't call me Jim" Frye
Lynxmotion, Inc
http://www.lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 15:35 
Of course!
Here they are:
http://s1121.photobucket.com/albums/l50 ... i/Hexapod/
If there is something not clear just let me know.
Already many thanks


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 15:38 
By the way:
I loaded a prewritten program of the site to my Bot and I can't manipulate my pod with the wireless controller.
I know that I have to put a jumper for the speaker but I removed it because it was constantly beeping.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3299
Posted: 2011-05-09 15:56 
Ilias+1 wrote:
By the way:
I know that the I have to put a jumper for the speaker but I removed it because it was constantly beeping.


this is good information! this might indicate that you have a problem with your ps2 connection!
i would also check in your code that you are running the data cable from RX/TX from pin 8 as you have it assembled.

i see a whole host of problems with your bot. a picture says a thousand words comes to mind.

Assembly:
you have used the wrong holes on your servo horns when attaching the brackets. they look out of centre.


you also need to peal off the protective film that covers the lexan panels.
http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/infolexa.htm
this is becoming the most popular way to connect:


also back to the problem:
check your connection against this chart.


Also your powering options need changing too.

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


Last edited by innerbreed on 2011-05-09 15:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9257
Posted: 2011-05-09 15:57 
Aside from what Innerbreed pointed out, everything looks ok. I don't like the plastic battery holder you are using, but it might not cause problems because of the servos you are using. With more info I can determine if it is a problem or not. Please review the tutorials again and tell me when the problems start. Were you able to use LynxTerm to calibrate the servos? Please provide more information. If the controller works with the game console it should work with this robot. Do the lights blink on the receiver? Tell me more about what works and what does not.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:07 
Hmm..
1)I'll fix the assembly of the horns and fix the lexan panels.
2)About the RX/TX: In the beginning of my program is SSC32 declared as a constant variable at con p8;
SSC32 con p8
3)The popular way is almost the same except for that jumper configuration at the Baud and TX/RX connection?
4)And what do you mean by changing the powering options?

Thanks for the reply


Last edited by Ilias+1 on 2011-05-09 16:15, edited 1 time in total.

Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:11 
Robot Dude wrote:
Aside from what Innerbreed pointed out, everything looks ok. I don't like the plastic battery holder you are using, but it might not cause problems because of the servos you are using. With more info I can determine if it is a problem or not. Please review the tutorials again and tell me when the problems start. Were you able to use LynxTerm to calibrate the servos? Please provide more information. If the controller works with the game console it should work with this robot. Do the lights blink on the receiver? Tell me more about what works and what does not.


Hello,
I wasn't able to properly calibrate the servos with Lynxterm.
When I send the 'ver' command to the SSC32 it didn't answered or there came some weird symbols.
For the receiver:
The receivers green LED stays on and the red one is blinking and when I turn my wireless controller on, both green and red LEDs of the receiver stays steady

already thanks


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9257
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:28 
If the LED's on the controller are both lit, then it appears to be working.

The weird symbols are due to a baud rate mismatch. Either the SSC-32 or the software are talking at different speeds. For LynxTerm use 115.2k baud. For Bot Board use 38.4k baud.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:35 
Just tried again with Lynxterm. The baud is 115.2k and there is nothing happening..


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3299
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:36 
Ilias+1 wrote:
Hmm..
1)I'll fix the assembly of the horns and fix the lexan panels.
2)About the RX/TX: In the beginning of my program is SSC32 declared as a constant variable at con p8;
SSC32 con p8
3)The popular way is almost the same except for that jumper configuration at the Baud and TX/RX connection?
4)And what do you mean by changing the powering options?

Thanks for the reply


1) just thought id point that out. :wink:

2) yes, not problem there thats fine.

3) the baud is the same. but please check. that other jumper that is removed in the first connection is not actually doing anything only being connected to one pin like that. (connection example) when switching from PC to ssc-Abb you will need to change the baud rate so that talk at the same speed. its only there to keep it handy.

if you look at the connections for the date cable the cable is on pins 10/11 not 8.
tutorial here for that. its ok the way you have it though so its only a matter of opinion on that one.
http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build159.htm
4) you wont get much current going to those servos so an upgrade would work better. as jim pointed out, it might be ok for those servos though.

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3299
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:37 
did you remove the data cable and replace it with the rx/tx jumpers?
and buad rate. like this?

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


Last edited by innerbreed on 2011-05-09 16:40, edited 1 time in total.

Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:40 
Do you mean removing the cable relying Bot Board with SSC32?
Everything is wired as the schematic above


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3299
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:43 
does it work now, when connected to LT?

_________________
Jonny Poole,
Freelance Concept Art & Animatronics, 3D Art and 3D Modelling, as well as Physical Modelling, Mechanical design, and illustration.
http://www.innerbreed.co.uk
Create, Innovate, Inspire.


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 16
Posted: 2011-05-09 16:46 
Yes!
I finally calibrated my servo's :D
So now, how does it come that I can't manipulate the pod with my wireless controller?


Last edited by Ilias+1 on 2011-05-09 16:53, edited 1 time in total.

1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-10-31 20:16
Feedback Form
Feedback Form