Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Programming Hexapod

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]

New ( offline )
Posts: 8
Posted: 2012-01-13 17:00 
 Post subject: Programming Hexapod
Hi, I'm building a CH3-R hexapod and I'm stuck at Step 12. Controlling the Robot. Everything programmed right(so I think) but I can't control/move the robot. When programmed/turned on the robot beeps; legs raise/lower into position but when I press buttons on the ps2 controller nothing happens. I started off using a wireless controller supplied through lynxmotion but I don't think that controller works properly. I tested it on a playstation 2 at home and it didn't work. So, I brought in an actual wired SONY ps2 controller that I know works and thought that it might solve the problem, but still I get nothing. I think everything's wired correctly, but I'm stuck. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Justen


Attachment:
ssc-32.jpg
ssc-32.jpg [ 279.48 KiB | Viewed 1631 times ]
Attachment:
botboardII.jpg
botboardII.jpg [ 289.56 KiB | Viewed 1631 times ]
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4855
Posted: 2012-01-13 19:04 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
It might help, to know what options you used with the powerpod program. Things like BB2 versus ABB. That is we should verify the program the powerpod built has the PS2 on pins 12-15. Ie check to make sure the defines are like:
Code:
DAT con P12
CMD con P13
SEL con P14
CLK con P15

Assuming that is defined correctly and you still can not get it to work, then you should try running the PS2 debug program to see if the PS2 is working or not. http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build034.htm

Kurt


New ( offline )
Posts: 8
Posted: 2012-01-14 16:19 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
Alright, I double checked the powerpod program and everything's set up right. The pins are assigned 12-15 and it's set up for Basic Micro IDE v02.2.1.1. Which brings me to my next question: Should I be using Basic Micro IDE v02.2.1.1 or Basic Micro Studio?...because in the tutorial directions on step 11, it says to "Step 11. Download the Program
Download BASIC Micro Studio from here. Install and run the program to allow programming the chip." I can't help but think that I should be using Basic Micro IDE v02.2.1.1 since that's what it calls for in all the code, however, I can only get the programs to run in Studio. In Basic Micro IDE v02.2.1.1 I always get the pop-up *ATOM must be connected to compile/program/debug*. I did try the ps2 debug program in Studio, it downloaded and everything but in the terminal window all I got was 255 throughout the whole window. I don't know if it's a combination of problems or if I'm just wasting my time with Studio and need the other Basic Micro IDE v02.2.1.1. Let me know if there's any other details I can give you.

Thanks in advance,

Justen


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4855
Posted: 2012-01-14 17:19 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
Quick answer (got to run): Should download the latest version of studio. Should configure for Basic atom Pro. It used to say for something like version 8.xxx don't remember which... If I remember correctly if it says 2.2.xx you probably had it configured for Atom not pro. Again use Studio. Usually look up at Basic Micro forum for latest builds: http://forums.basicmicro.net/news-f481/

If the PS2 thing shows all 255s, it usually implies something is not working properly... When you try to run the program what are the leds on the transmitter and receiver showing?

Sorry but got to go.
Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2012-01-16 15:51 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
It looks like everything is connected properly. As Kurt asked, it would be good to know what the LEDs are doing on the TX / RX.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


New ( offline )
Posts: 8
Posted: 2012-01-16 16:26 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
Alright Kurt, I've gotten a little further. You were right, I had it configured for Atom and not Pro. I went onto the Powerpod and changed the IDE to Basic Micro Pro IDE V08.0.1.7 and already had the latest version of Basic Micro Studio.

-I ran the ps2 debug program again and i got it to work, sort of. I don't have all 255's across the board and I got the small motor to vibrate like it should using the D-pad, however, I couldn't get the large motor to vibrate. When I pressed the D-pad for it to vibrate the numbers would change, so I know there was something going on there, could just be a bad motor, I know they go out in these controllers and it is a fairly OLD controller.

-The only thing the LED's are doing is, on the SSC-32 board when the program first starts and the legs move up/down the light blinks periodically until it lowers itself to the final position. Then when I try to press buttons on the ps2 controller,there's nothing.

**Hold that thought, while I was writing this/messing around with the robot things started to work. This is what's going on FYI just in case you see any future problems for me down the road, because I'm still not sure why it just started working. The top LED's A and C are blinking quickly, and B remains lit. Now the SSC-32 board does blink when I use the controller. I pressed the C button on the Bot-Board II and the robot moved, then I tried the controller and now it works and everything is functional as far as I can tell.

Thanks for all the help and I'll be back here if I have any more questions. I guess the only real problem I had was the the IDE version in powerpod.

Justen


New ( offline )
Posts: 8
Posted: 2012-02-07 19:07 
 Post subject: Re: Programming Hexapod
Hello,

It's been awhile but I did get the hexapod running for the most part. I can use the ps2 controller and the joysticks to move the robot. However, none of the other buttons seem to work/do anything. My ultimate goal however is to run the hexapod in autonomous mode using sonar sensors to help it navigate. So, I don't know if being able to fully control the robot with the ps2 controller is all that important.

-I went ahead and changed the settings in Powerpod to generate the autonomous code. I have not altered any of the code given but taken into consideration some of the changes I may need to apply later, such as controlling it like a car by changing the Xspeed from (0 to -120). I downloaded the program anyways even though I wasn't sure what to expect; which nothing happened. I didn't think it would since there's no kind of sensor communicating with the robot.

-I guess my questions are: Is the code that's generated suppose to do anything? Or do I need to wait till I get my sonar sensors and build onto the code provided? Also, I wouldn't need to connect to the SSC-32 board again and update the Powerpod information for autonomous there again would I?...I figured it would just be a matter of changing the code.

I apologize for my ignorance in advance, this is all new to me and I'm just learning (A LOT) as I go along. But it's for a school project and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Justen

P.S. sorry its so lengthy, and if there's any more info I can give you guys just let me know. *I know how big everyone is on details, including pictures and what not that's why I just continued to post on this thread, since all the previous information is there.


 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-07-10 11:47
Feedback Form
Feedback Form