Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

PS2 connection problems

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 2 of 3 [ 31 posts ]

1, 2, 3
Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-17 10:52 
Hi,


I was reading this topic, cause I cant get any communication going as well.. Im trying now with a Atompro 28, Bot board II and a lynxmotioncontroller with receiver.

While im reading this topic, I notice several problems.. :shock: :?
There is a green led suppose to light up when you turn the controller on ?? Mine doesn't and never has.. only the red led starts to blink
I'm trying it right now, with new batteries.

If I only place 5V on the receiver then both leds starts to burn.. (green and red)
when i connect the communication wires (Braun, orange, yellow and blue) then the the red led start to blink weak with irregular a bright blink :?

I bought my controller a few months ago trough a dutch retailer, hoping to get it going with a basic stamp.. that never worked.. Im getting the feeling now that it wasn't the stamp but that the controller/receiver is not working..

I'm getting now the feeling that I trow my money away.. that always sucks! :wink:

Hope someone can help me out here..


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4908
Posted: 2010-04-17 11:25 
So if you only plug in the power/ground to the receiver you have both LEDS on the receiver light up. That usually implies that it has made a connection between the sender and the receiver.

You say you plug in the communication wires, that you only get a faint irregular blink. Questions are:
a) where do you have the cable plugged in? Pins 12-15 on the BAP? on the IO pins? (the row toward the inside of the board)
b) What is the power jumper set to for pins 12-15? (should be +5v NOT VS)
c) What power do you have going to the BB2?
d) What program are you trying to run on the Basic Atom Pro? Have you downloaded something? If so what? Also what version of the Basic Micro software are you running?

Kurt


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-17 12:53 
"So if you only plug in the power/ground to the receiver you have both LEDS on the receiver light up. That usually implies that it has made a connection between the sender and the receiver.

You say you plug in the communication wires, that you only get a faint irregular blink. Questions are:
a) where do you have the cable plugged in? Pins 12-15 on the BAP? on the IO pins? (the row toward the inside of the board)
b) What is the power jumper set to for pins 12-15? (should be +5v NOT VS)
c) What power do you have going to the BB2?
d) What program are you trying to run on the Basic Atom Pro? Have you downloaded something? If so what? Also what version of the Basic Micro software are you running?"

sorry for my incomplete background info;

a: Pins 12 - 15 on the botboard II
b: the power is set to 5V, I have measured it as well, 4,99V
c: think that b answers c; ( a nine volt adapter connected to VL)
d: trying with the Basic Micro Pro IDE <= 08.0.1.7 and the standard test program found on lynxmotion website

But I still think that the main problem is that there is not a green led on my controller. But I will be happy proved otherwise :)
Ill ad a picture, not very clear.. but you can see the connecting.

Thanks for all the help


Attachment:
IMG0025A.jpg
IMG0025A.jpg [ 220.29 KiB | Viewed 1067 times ]
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4908
Posted: 2010-04-17 13:26 
I can not tell for sure from your picture, but it almost looks like the yellow wire from the PS2 connector is going to ground and the Black/red combination is going to power which is backwords...

Here is a diagram of the different PS2 cable connectors: http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/b ... tm#aglance

Kurt


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-18 11:22 
Hi,

The picture is kinda bad, but I guess that you talk about the yellow/black cable, thats the communication cable between the BotBoardII and the SSC-32 board. The receiver is connected as follow: black/white to ground, red to 5V.. P12=brown, P13=orange, P14=yellow and P15=blue

I'm pretty sure that all the wires are correct, the green led on the receiver burns, and the red one flashes.


Think that If I would find someone with a PlayStation, it would be easy to tell if the receiver/controller is working at all..
only stupid that none of my friends has a Playstation :? what are the chances :shock:

but this is the code I'm reading now.

41 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
FF 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
41 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
FF 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
41 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
FF 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255 255
41 255 255 255 255 255 255 255

And this code keeps generating with my controller on or of.
My program is the test program from Lynxmotion website::
;PS2 Controller / BotBoard II
DAT con P12
CMD con P13
SEL con P14
CLK con P15
;-----------------------------

index var byte
temp var byte(19)
mode var byte
Small_Motor var byte
Large_Motor var byte

;PS2Init
high CLK

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$1\8,$43\8,$0\8,$1\8,$0\8] ;CONFIG_MODE_ENTER
high SEL
pause 1

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$01\8,$44\8,$00\8,$01\8,$03\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8] ;SET_MODE_AND_LOCK
high SEL
pause 100

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$01\8,$4F\8,$00\8,$FF\8,$FF\8,$03\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8] ;SET_DS2_NATIVE_MODE
high SEL
pause 1

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$01\8,$4D\8,$00\8,$00\8,$01\8,$FF\8,$FF\8,$FF\8,$FF\8] ;VIBRATION_ENABLE
high SEL
pause 1

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$01\8,$43\8,$00\8,$00\8,$5A\8,$5A\8,$5A\8,$5A\8,$5A\8] ;CONFIG_MODE_EXIT_DS2_NATIVE
high SEL
pause 1

low SEL
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$01\8,$43\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8,$00\8] ;CONFIG_MODE_EXIT
high SEL
pause 1

main

;-----------PS2 Mode----------
low SEL
; asking "mode" to PS2 controller
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$1\8]
; reading "mode" from PS2 controller
; 73(hex) is dualshock1 (digital buttons)
; 79(hex) is dualshock2 (analog buttons)
shiftin DAT,CLK,FASTLSBPOST,[mode\8]
high SEL
;-----------------------------

pause 1

;-----------PS2 Data----------
low SEL
; asking data to PS2 controller
shiftout CMD,CLK,FASTLSBPRE,[$1\8,$42\8]
; reading data from controller
; (don't use a "for-next" loop, it's too slow to read PS2 data)
shiftin DAT,CLK,FASTLSBPOST,[temp(0)\8,temp(1)\8,temp(2)\8,temp(3)\8,temp(4)\8,temp(5)\8,temp(6)\8,temp(7)\8,temp(8)\8, |
temp(9)\8,temp(10)\8,temp(11)\8,temp(12)\8,temp(13)\8,temp(14)\8,temp(15)\8,temp(16)\8,temp(17)\8,temp(18)\8]
high SEL
;-----------------------------

pause 1

;-----------------------------

;-----------Basic Micro IDE terminal----------

serout S_OUT,i57600,[13, hex2 mode\2] ; Basic Micro Pro IDE <= 08.0.1.7

for index = 1 to 18 ; temp(0) contains a dummy variable so we don't send it to the PC

serout S_OUT,i57600,[" ", dec3 temp(index)\3] ; Basic Micro Pro IDE <= 08.0.1.7
next
;-----------------------------

goto main

Hope someone can help me out here. Maybe its a simple stupid mistake I make, but I don't see it anymore..

THX


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-19 16:01 
Hmm,

Just got back from an old friend who has a PlayStation 2.. The controller doesn't connect to the receiver..
He gave me a wired controller, a original one.. that one works fine. I can read all the values..

What am I now suppose to do with the wireless one?? Its brand new, but it has a quality control sticker 2009, march...


Is there someone from Lynxmotion here who can tell me how I can fix the controller or something??


Hope someone can help me..


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2010-04-19 16:22 
Robert wrote:
What am I now suppose to do with the wireless one?? Its brand new, but it has a quality control sticker 2009, march...

Is there someone from Lynxmotion here who can tell me how I can fix the controller or something??


We buy the controllers in large batches once a year. So it's not unusual to see a QC sticker that is old. They sit in a box in the climate controlled warehouse until shipped.

You have stated you bought the controller a few months back. We routinely replace electronics as long as the problem is reported within a week or two of receiving the equipment. You have to understand we have no control over what is done with this sort of equipment. Things can be damaged if used incorrectly. Just last week a forum member asked for a PS2 controller to be replaced after he had it for over a year. We are generous, but there is a limit.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-19 16:37 
Robot Dude wrote:
Robert wrote:
What am I now suppose to do with the wireless one?? Its brand new, but it has a quality control sticker 2009, march...

Is there someone from Lynxmotion here who can tell me how I can fix the controller or something??


We buy the controllers in large batches once a year. So it's not unusual to see a QC sticker that is old. They sit in a box in the climate controlled warehouse until shipped.

You have stated you bought the controller a few months back. We routinely replace electronics as long as the problem is reported within a week or two of receiving the equipment. You have to understand we have no control over what is done with this sort of equipment. Things can be damaged if used incorrectly. Just last week a forum member asked for a PS2 controller to be replaced after he had it for over a year. We are generous, but there is a limit.


haha, I understand that.

Things just happen, I bought my controller by a dutch retailer on February 28.. Maybe I can wine at them :|
But is there some kind "things to check when your controller is not working" list or so..??

It would be handy to know, what the most likely problem is.. maybe its just a easy fix, if you know where to look..

But thanks for all the fast responses,

Robert


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2010-04-19 16:58 
The easiest way to check the controller is by installing the batteries in the handheld unit, and applying 5vdc to the black/yellow and red wires for the receiver. The two units should sync up very quickly. In other words just power them up. Ironically if you do connect the Atom or Stamp and have a problem with the code it can prevent them from syncing.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-19 17:45 
I know, I know


Thats the problem; they don't find each other.
Already tried it with only 5V on the receiver, guess that it is the same as trying them on a PlayStation..

Just opened the receiver (removed the four screws) it doesn't look very happy, not much that you can do.. Only weird this is that U2 is missing,
and the solder pads connect to their neighbors (Where chip U2 should be connected then). Is that chip missing normal or..??

ah well..

Thx for the reply anyway


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2010-04-19 17:55 
Robert wrote:
Just opened the receiver (removed the four screws) it doesn't look very happy, not much that you can do.. Only weird this is that U2 is missing,
and the solder pads connect to their neighbors (Where chip U2 should be connected then). Is that chip missing normal or..??


I opened up an old one and a newer one and neither of them even have U2 mentioned anywhere. :P

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-20 04:12 
I opened mine again :) looking inside electrical stuff, has been a hobby of mine since I'm a little child :)

Hope that the picture is clear enough to see;

The drawing were chip "U2" should go, and the coper lines that all touch each other there.. If you print looks a lot better and the copper isn't touching each other, then it could be a wise thing to fix this.. You never know..

Thanks for all the help Mr. Robot dude

Robert


Attachment:
P4201471.JPG
P4201471.JPG [ 988.16 KiB | Viewed 1026 times ]
User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 536
Posted: 2010-04-20 10:27 
Robert wrote:
The drawing were chip "U2" should go, and the coper lines that all touch each other there.. If you print looks a lot better and the copper isn't touching each other, then it could be a wise thing to fix this.. You never know..

I opened up a working one here, there is no U2 chip and the leads are touching in the same places as yours.

_________________
Curiously enough, the only thing that went through the mind
of the bowl of petunias as it fell was "Oh no, not again."

James "Don't call me Jim" Frye
Lynxmotion, Inc
http://www.lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2010-04-20 11:17 
Yes every revision is a little different. In this case U2 is not supposed to be there.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 28
Posted: 2010-04-21 12:29 
Hi,


Good news! The Dutch retailer has offered to replace mine controller :D just the mailing costs for me :)
Assuming that this one is gonna work, so then I have two of them, I bought yesterday an original wired PlayStation controller..

Little question. For the hardware and software it doesn't matter which controller is connected right??

Robert


1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-09-30 17:54
Feedback Form
Feedback Form