Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Some app ideas and questions

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]

New ( offline )
Posted: 2012-01-26 11:34 
I am a web developer in London, UK and am looking for a new challenge. I have always been fascinated by robots and have been exploring myrobots.com with great interest. I have ordered an Arduino kit and plan to build a bot that can tell me the temperature and set the central heating at my home remotely. I could then build an Android App that allows my to switch on the heating before I leave work so it is nice and warm when I get back! :)

However, I don't want to stop there. I would love to get a Nao when they are released to the public and start building Robot Apps that anyone can use. My first idea is an app that lets the Nao solve a Rubik's Cube from any configuration. Another idea is an app that lets a Nao play chess with someone on a physical board (although this would be much more complex). So I have some questions...

Would a Nao be physically capable of turning the sites of a Rubik's cube? Maybe by holding it with its feet and turning with its hands.

I have been looking at Webots which appears to be able to simulate a Nao. Would I be able to start developing the Rubik's Cube app using Webots without actually owning a Nao?

Am I able to join the developer beta program to learn more about developing an app that will work on myrobots.com?

Is anyone else planning to develop these apps? I don't want to duplicate work.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to building Robot Apps! :cool:

Joe

Expert ( offline )
Posted: 2012-01-27 17:22 
Your apps sound very interesting and could definitely be very popular.

Nao can move chess pieces and could probably manipulate a Rubiks cube but the latter might be difficult because a cube is usually too stiff and too big for Nao.