Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Trouble shooting

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ]

Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 21
Posted: 2009-09-12 15:59 
 Post subject: Trouble shooting
Just a heads up, if your ps2 receiver only has a dim green light on it and the red one isnt blinking, the receiver is plugged in to the wiring upside down, it still fits and youd never notice if you were plugging in the receiver in dim light, this drove me nuts for 2 days


User avatar
Novice ( offline )
Posts: 63
Posted: 2010-01-08 23:40 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
Hello,

My receiver was working fine, then today, the red light stopped blinking. The green light is on strong, but the controller and the receiver don't sync up. I did not change any wiring.

Did the receiver go bad?

The only action I've taken on the bot is to re-solder a broken wire from the 9v connector (shouldn't be any issues with that).


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9257
Posted: 2010-01-11 11:56 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
Double check the battery. If nothing changed then it could be low. The PS2 controller and receiver will link up when powered on. They do not require code on the Atom to link up.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


User avatar
Novice ( offline )
Posts: 63
Posted: 2010-01-11 14:59 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
The green light is on, but the red light no longer comes on. Before it would blink, until synced with the controller. Thats what leads me to believe that reciever is bad.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4913
Posted: 2010-02-07 13:24 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
I thought I would also mention something I ran into this last last week while troubleshooting why my Lynxmotion wireless controller was not syncing up properly. Note: this was when I was developing code for a different processor but the same thing can hit you with the Basic Atom (pro) code.

That is if your code looks something like:
Code:
Loop:
    gosub ReadPs2Data
    if (something has changed then
        process the new data
    endif
goto loop

The PS2 will most likely not work? Why I did not provide enough time in between doing the query for the wireless receiver/transmitter to talk to each other... So make sure you have a delay between readings. Not sure of what the minimum is but 20ms appears to work.

Side Note: On the other processor I am able to use the built-in pull-up resistors on the DAT line and it works fine. Sometime I may try that on the BAP28, to see if you can simply move the PS2 controller down to another group of pins and simply enable the built-in resistor without having to solder something onto the BB2...

Kurt


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 628
Posted: 2010-02-08 15:18 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
You should be able to use the internal pullups on the AtomPro, however they are VERY weak pullups. This may mean that only some PS2 controllers will work.

_________________
Basicmicro


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2956
Posted: 2010-06-06 14:26 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
I'm trying to get my wireless PS2 controller connected up to the Atom Pro for WALTER now. The controller has fresh batteries, and the receiver has power from the BotBoard II. Is the LED on the receiver supposed to blink all the time, even after the light on the controller has gone out? When I turn the controller on, I have a blinking light and then it goes off after a time. Does this mean it has paired up with the receiver? I've got the receiver plugged into P0 - P3 with the initialization shown by Kurte for that configuration.

8-Dale

_________________
I can usually handle complexity. It's the [b][i]simple[/i][/b] things that always confound me..
Check out my [url=http://www.hybotics.me]blog[/url] now!
Open your mind, Read, Learn, Think, Apply..


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4913
Posted: 2010-06-06 15:09 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
Hi Dale,

I have my CHR-3 currently setup using P0-P3 (although at this moment it is running my C version...) With My receiver I have two LEDS one that comes on solid and the other one blinks until the PS2 transmitter is turned on and then the light that was blinking, stays on solid. So not sure what it means when it turns off?

You have enabled the pull up on P0? Also make sure that P0-P3 or wherever your power connection to the PS2 receiver, is configured for +5v and not VS. Also make sure there is some delay in your program between queries... I found that if I did not delay the receiver and transmitter did not have time to talk to each other, which caused problems

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2956
Posted: 2010-06-06 15:19 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
kurte wrote:
Hi Dale,

I have my CHR-3 currently setup using P0-P3 (although at this moment it is running my C version...) With My receiver I have two LEDS one that comes on solid and the other one blinks until the PS2 transmitter is turned on and then the light that was blinking, stays on solid.

That's what I have now. I didn't have P0 - P3 set for +5V. After I switched the power jumper, things started working.

kurte wrote:
You have enabled the pull up on P0?

I copied your init code for the P0 - P3 configuration. :)

My plan is to copy some existing PS2 controller code and edit that for the way I want the controls to work on WALTER.

8-Dale

_________________
I can usually handle complexity. It's the [b][i]simple[/i][/b] things that always confound me..
Check out my [url=http://www.hybotics.me]blog[/url] now!
Open your mind, Read, Learn, Think, Apply..


User avatar
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 158
Posted: 2011-02-20 19:30 
 Post subject: Re: Trouble shooting
so, if i understand this correctly:

If the receiver (this is, not the handunit) is comfirmed to be in a 5V outlet (on my ARC32), all other cables are disconnected, and only the green light is on, this meen i have a deffective receiver ?

or is the handunit somehow involved in this ?
if i turn it on the only thing is that the red ligt starts blinking some time, and sometime later it turn of compleately

_________________
PS
As i am Swedish, you may laugh at my spelling and grammar, but please please don’t comment it if you understand what i mean
DS


 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-10-25 07:54
Feedback Form
Feedback Form