Falling into a Black Carpet

I have a new Roomba 570 that is afraid of falling into a black carpet. In other words its ‘cliff sensors’ indicate a cliff when on black carpets such as a door matt or Ikea style carpets with bold geometric black patterns. This a real pain since it constantly gets stuck and the Roomba must be reset (The door matts have just enough ‘grey’ in them to only trigger the cliff senors occassionally).

This is a known problem - forums.irobot.com/irobothome/board/message?board.id=80&thread.id=7223

This problem seems to have been around for a while given this video - youtube.com/watch?v=A9L0w7C4OeE Note the 400 series Roomba.

The problem is that I have areas where I have black carpet and other areas where I have stairs and sunken family room.

My question is there another way (other than covering the sensors with with tape) of temporarily disabling the cliff sensors such as holding a combination of bottons?

Perhaps IRobot should have a program to get carpet manufacturers to brand their carpets “IRobot Roomba Compliant”. Yeah, I know it is a cheap shot, but this is very irriating and it is obvious that IRobot knew about the problem when designing their new series of Roombas (5th generation products - really).

Any help would be appreciated.

John Hansen

I have blocked my Roomba’s cliff sensors with aluminum foil (I tried 32 pound white paper, but it didn’t work). It works for a while. After about 5 missions though, the cliff sensors went off again not allowing the Roomba to clean. It appeared that foil had gotten so banged up that it was not reflecting the IR signal of the cliff sensors. The only solution was to remove the foil over the cliff sensors.

I guess the next time I need to clean the black carpet its another 10 minutes work to cover the cliff sensors or just get out the old Hoover.

regards,
John Hansen

I should just add that the IRobot Roomba is a great appliance. I wouldn’t want to do without it, even with its flaws.